Friday 10 June 2016

Lagos Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode sacks 57 LGs/LCDAs Executive Secretaries; ...dissolves caretaker committees

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode
Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode on Thursday evening sacked the Executive Secretaries of the 57 Local Governments Councils and Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs in the State.

This followed the resolution of the Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday that the govenor should dissolve the LGs/LCDAs Caretaker Committees.

Ambode, thus, on Thursday evening approved the immediate dissolution of the Caretaker Committees.

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr Tunji Bello, the Governor also directed the Executive Secretaries to hand over the reins of administration to the Head of Administration in each of the Council Areas.

Thursday’s dissolution of the Caretaker committees is preparatory to the holding of elections into the 57 Council Areas by the State Government and ensuring that the necessary machineries are put in place preparatory to the elections.

Earlier on Thursday, the Lagos State House of Assembly had demanded the sack of the 57 Executive Secretaries of the 20 Local Governments and 37 Local Council Development Areas of the state by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode.

The lawmakers who made the demand following a debate at their Thursday plenary gave Governor Ambode the go ahead to appoint sole administrators to run the councils.

The lawmakers, however, stated that whoever is appointed sole administrator of any of the councils should not have the intention of contesting the coming Local Government election in the state.

The House ruled that the incoming Sole Administrators must not embark on new projects, but concentrate on payment of staff salaries and debts incurred by their predecessors.

The lawmakers’ decision was sequel to the motion moved by the its Deputy Speaker, Wasiu Sanni-Eshinlokun. The motion was seconded by the Deputy Majority Leader, Olumuyiwa Jimoh.

The State House of Assembly had also on April 22 this year passed into law a bill recommending a four year tenure for elected Local Government helmsmen instead of the three years tenure that hitherto obtained.

It would be recalled that the Caretaker Committees which was headed by Executive Secretaries were inaugurated by former Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola on 5 January, 2015.

Credit: PM News

No comments:

Post a Comment