Wednesday 1 July 2015

PDP zones principal offices at the National Assembly

The opposoition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has zoned principal offices due to the party at the national assembly and has asked its zonal caucuses to choose those to occupy them.

The zoning which was announced by PDP national publicity secretary, Olisa Metuh, on Wednesday, showed that the Senate Minority leader was assigned to South South region, while Minority Whip was zoned to North Central.

The North East is to produce the Deputy Minority Leader, while the South West will produce a deputy minority whip.

In the House of Representatives, the South South will also produce the Minority leader, while the North West will produce the Minority Whip. The offices of deputy minority leader and deputy minority whip were zoned to the South East and North east respectively.

Mr. Metuh said the directive is in consonance with the provision of the Standing Rules of the two chambers.

“You are through this medium advised to use your various Zonal Party Caucuses to choose the party’s Principal Officers to enable you provide effective opposition in the respective chambers of the National Assembly,” he said.

Credit: Sani Tukur/Premium Times

No comments:

Post a Comment