Thursday 29 October 2015

Senate confirms Amaechi and 17 others as ministers; PDP senators stage a walkout

Senate confirms Amaechi
The Nigerian Senate has confirmed former Rivers State Governor, Chibuike Amaechi as minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

PDP senators, however, staged a walk out in protest of the confirmation of Amaechi.

The Senate Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio, led the walk-out.

Things came to a head after the Chairman of the Committee on Ethics and Privileges, Senator Samuel Anyanwu presented the report on the petition against the former governor.

The PDP Senators at the Senate had asked the Senate not to confirm Mr Amaechi until the allegations against him are cleared by the relevant judicial process.

The Senate also confirmed 17 other nominees who had gone through a process of scrutiny during the screening process.

They are Adebayo Shittu, Khadija Ibrahim, Heineken Lokpobiri, Cladius Daramola, Baba Mustapha, Ocholi James, Adewole Folorunso, and Bawa Bwari.

Others are Geoffrey Onyeama, Zainab Ahmed, Mohammed Dan Ali, Usani Uguru, Okechukwu Enelamah, Anwuka Gozie, Mohammed Bello, Adamu Adamu and Aisha Abubakar.

The remainder of the senators in the chamber confirmed the 18 nominees.

Credit: Channels

No comments:

Post a Comment