Wednesday 8 July 2015

Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) invites 50 athletes for 2015 All-Africa Games

The Athletic Federation of Nigeria has invited 50 athletes for camping ahead of Congo 2015 All-Africa Games holding in September.

AFN Technical Director, Omatseye Nesiama, said in a statement that the camp would officially open at the AFN High Performance Centre, University of Port Harcourt this week.

Nesiama said substitutions would be made to both athletes and coaches, depending on performances posted at the remaining competitions leading up to the national trials.

He also revealed that a consortium of coaches have been invited to facilitate the camping pending the appointment of a substantive coach for the team. The interview/selection exercise for the coach will hold at the end of the national trials.

The invited athletes are Igbinosun Isoken, Ezealah Nkem, Imhoaperamhe Nicholas, Peter Odele, Cecilia Francis, Divine Oduduru, Adeloye Oluwatosin, Vivian Ossai, Orukpe Erayokan, Ogunmola Tobi and Nathaniel Samson Oghenewegba.

Others are Ayemoba Grace, Oluwakemi Francis, Temidayo Oshinbanjo, Martins Ogierakhi, Okon Samuel Etim, Abdullahi Bashiru, Rita Ossai, Daisy Akpofa, Okorie Henry, Akindunjoye Johnson and Emoghene Timothy.

Also in the 50-man list are Augustine Nwoye, Grace Anigbata, Arinze Obiora, Okpara Theddus, Nwanaga Kelechi, Kure Adams, Ezeofor Kenechukwu, Oladimeji Oluwatoyin, Okulaja Babajide, Anota John Oluwashola, Euphemia Edem, Chinazom Amadi, Brume Ese, Uju Anoliefo, Eucharia Ogbukwo, Eke Kalu, Olajide Abiola, Chibunna Chido, Ibukun Ibrahim, Hope Idhe, Queen Henshaw, Oguh Faustina, Elegbede Bamidele, Adeyemi Kazeem, Abike Egbeniyi, Hamadjam Soudi and Ismaila Sadjo.

Meanwhile, the AFN has named a seven-man Local Organising Committee for the 2015 AFN/CRS All-Nigeria Athletics Championships, which will serve as trials for the Beijing 2015 IAAF World Championships in Athletics and Brazzaville 2015 All-Africa Games.

AFN Vice President, Tunde Abdulkareem, is the Chairman of the committee, members are Olukayode Thomas, Omatseye, Gloria Chukwukere, Kenneth Anugweje, Falilat Ogunkoya and Bamiduro Olumide, who will serve as the committee secretary.”

Credit: Punch 

No comments:

Post a Comment