Saturday 6 June 2015

APC picks Femi Gbajabiamila as House of Reps Speaker

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has picked the member representing Surulere Federal Constituency, Lagos, in the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, to run for the office of Speaker of the House.

Mr. Gbajabiamila was elected at a primary election for APC members organised by the leadership of the party on Saturday in Abuja.

Mr. Gbajabiamila scored 154 votes, while his challenger, Yakubu Dogara, who stormed out of the venue of the election before voting commenced, scored 3 votes.

Four votes were declared invalid by the returning officer, the national vice chairman, north east of the party, Babachir Lawan.

The House of Reps is expected to elect a new Speaker on Tuesday.

Tahir Monguno was also elected as candidate for Deputy Speaker. He scored 153 votes.

One hundred and eighty three members attended the election.

Credit: Nigerian Tribune 

No comments:

Post a Comment