Wednesday 15 October 2014

Labaran Maku, Nyesom Wike, Musiliu Obanikoro and 3 others resign as Ministers

Seven ministers in President Goodluck Jonathan’s cabinet have resigned their positions.

Those who resigned are Ministers of Information, Labaran Maku; Trade and Industry, Samuel Ortom; State for Education, Nyesom Wike; and State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

Others are Ministers of Labour, Emeka Wogu; Health, Onyebuchi Chukwu; State for Niger Delta, Dairus Ishaku.

The ministers quit their posts to pursue their political ambitions, the government said.

The ministers, whose departure had long been expected, will contest gubernatorial elections in their respective states.

In his address at the Federal Executive Council valedictory session in honour of the seven ministers, President Jonathan said their decision to leave the cabinet was in line with a directive by the Peoples Democratic Party that “all those interested in elective positions must disengage before October 20.

“In politics you don’t conclude anything until it happens. The seven ministers may not be in council by next week Wednesday,” he said

President Jonathan further said that the ministers had not formally written to the Secretary to the Federal Government on their disengagement, explaining that they are still members of council until the October 20 deadline.

He also did not rule out the fact that some of the ministers may have a change of mind on their ambitions before the date.

The council wished the them well.

1 comment: